Become a Fan 
Follow Us
Green Building Certification Institute

The Green Building Certification Institute (GBCI) was established in January 2008 with the support of the U.S. Green Building Council to manage the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Building Certification and the Professional Accreditation Processes.

While the U.S. Green Building Council handles the development of the LEED Rating System and offers LEED-based education programs, the LEED Professional Accreditation program is independently administered under the Green Building Certification Institute to allow for balanced, objective management of the credential. GBCI manages all aspects of the LEED Professional Accreditation program including exam development, registration, and delivery. This separation into two organizational entities brings the credentialing program closer toward meeting standards for programmatic excellence put forth by ANSI/ISO/IEC 17024.


GBCI, launched on November 20, 2007, was formed to allow for balanced, objective management of the LEED Professional Accreditation program, including exam development, registration and delivery. The creation of GBCI will ensure that the LEED AP program will continue to be developed in accordance with best practices for credentialing programs. To underscore this commitment, GBCI will undergo the American National Standards Institute accreditation process for personnel certification agencies complying with ISO Standard 17024.

LEED Professional Credentials

The LEED credentialing exams are administered by Prometric for GBCI. LEED Professional Accreditation distinguishes building professionals with the knowledge and skills to successfully steward the LEED certification process. Between 2001 and 2009, the primary LEED credential was the LEED Accredited Professional (LEED AP). LEED APs have demonstrated a thorough understanding of green building practices and principles and the LEED Rating System. More than 110,000 people earned LEED APs between 2001 and 2009. In May 2009, the GBCI began rolling out the LEED 2009 professional credentials. The LEED 2009 standards include three tiers of professional credentials. The first tier is called LEED Green Associate. This exam consists of 100 questions and is scored on a scale of 125 to 200, with a score of 170 required to pass. The second tier is called LEED AP with Specialty. There are five versions of the LEED AP Specialty exam which correspond to the various versions of the LEED rating system. The LEED AP Specialty exams each consist of 100 questions. All LEED exams are formatted in a computerized multiple choice format with instant scoring after completion. The third tier is called LEED Fellow. Requirements for the LEED Fellow have not been established



 energylogic.gif cws med.JPG
Copyright © 2010 Corporate Social Responsibility Association
Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management